Sun Nov 04, 2012 10:39 pm

Any experts on here ?

Re: Employment law

Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:06 pm

What are you needing to know?

I'm no expert though..

Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:44 am

Bartlett_bluebird wrote:Any experts on here ?

If you don't want to post - pm me.

Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:28 am

Pm me if you want. Just a quick bit of advice unless you have been employed for 12 months you basically have no rights whatsoever at all

Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:47 am

I don't know if you are aware of this but even if your employer is totaly in the wrong you can't get legal aid for employment matters. I know this from first hand experience. So even if you've got a solid case you would still have to fund the lawyer yourself. Yes you would get that back probably if you win the case but it's still a gamble and you need the cash up front.

Your choices though are either get legal insurance, which is expensive. Or join a Union. Mine costs me £11 per month and it means I get access to all the employment lawyers I could ever need. You always learn these things though when it's too late. Everyone thinks it won't happen to them and when it does it's too late.

Mon Nov 05, 2012 1:50 pm

Berwyn wrote:I don't know if you are aware of this but even if your employer is totaly in the wrong you can't get legal aid for employment matters. I know this from first hand experience. So even if you've got a solid case you would still have to fund the lawyer yourself. Yes you would get that back probably if you win the case but it's still a gamble and you need the cash up front.

Your choices though are either get legal insurance, which is expensive. Or join a Union. Mine costs me £11 per month and it means I get access to all the employment lawyers I could ever need. You always learn these things though when it's too late. Everyone thinks it won't happen to them and when it does it's too late.

Not true at all.