Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

A fans view on Portsmouth's situation - a cracking read

Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:09 am

Four years ago Pompey were celebrating an FA Cup triumph. In 15 days they face oblivion, a fate I didn't envisage when I began supporting the club 20 years ago

I have been attending games at Fratton Park since 1992. As a child, I took it for granted that the club would always be there. As an adult, I didn't envisage the 20th year of my support for a team I've held dear for so long potentially ending in a disaster of this magnitude. Because, make no mistake about it, this could be the end game.

The future of the club I and many thousands of others have supported over generations now lies in the hands of a few footballers who have been asked to waive the wages they're legally entitled to for the sake of saving the focal point of an entire city. There is an irony that for so many years players at Portsmouth have decided the direction the club took on the pitch, yet now they will decide which direction it takes off it.

It is League One, with yet another 10-point deduction, or the wall. It's down to them. One of their number is the much-decorated and previously heralded N****wo Kanu, he of the FA Cup final winning goal in 2008. He is now reportedly demanding £3m. Never at Portsmouth has a hero travelled that rocky road to zero so effectively.

Instinctively though, I find myself siding with the players who signed contracts in good faith and now expect to be paid. While football isn't really like any other industry, that contract is nonetheless still legally binding unless the beneficiary agrees to a mutual termination. Yes, footballers are paid handsomely, some arguably too handsomely (no one could feasibly argue that Tal Ben Haim is worth a reported £36,000 a week), but it's a short career and they need to protect themselves and their families. They know they'll be a long time retired.