Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

Three-Way Battle For Kim Bo-Kyung!

Tue Jul 10, 2012 11:19 pm

CARDIFF City are locked in a three-way fight with German champions Borussia Dortmund and Scottish giants Celtic to sign one of the rising stars of Asian football.

South Korean international Kim Bo-Kyung, dubbed the new Park Ji-sung, confirmed he has opened talks with Malky Mackay’s Bluebirds.

And, even though City would appear the outsiders of the three to land the highly-rated winger cum goal-scoring midfielder, Bo-Kyung himself admitted a move to Wales is a real possibility.

He has already rejected a transfer to fallen French aces Monaco as he weighs up whether to plump for the Bluebirds, Borussia or Celtic.

“I want to play in the UK and Cardiff City is a club which would help me to develop,” said the exciting 22-year-old.

“It doesn’t worry me that Cardiff are in the Championship. I have no experience in Europe so I am happy to learn step-by-step.

“My agent and club officials are currently handling my transfer. I want to play in the UK or Germany. Cardiff and Celtic are places that would enable me to develop.”

Comparisons are already being made in the Far East between Bo-Kyung and Park Ji-sung, who left Manchester United for Queens Park Rangers after a successful spell at Old Trafford.

Bo-Kjung currently plays his club football in Japan for Cerezo Osaka, but his departure for pastures new in Europe seems imminent.

He has been capped 13 times by South Korea, his international debut coming against Zambia in 2010, and has scored twice for his country.

Bluebirds manager Mackay and his recruitment team are searching worldwide for talent as they look to put together a team capable of winning promotion to the Premier.

Bo-Kyung, who could act as a midfield playmaker, fits the bill as the sort of footballer Mackay wants.

Mackay would only say: “I never talk about any players who are with another club.”