Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

minimum wage for first year apprentice is........

Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:35 pm

£2.50 per hour,i know that not many jobs about but,f@ck me no wonder youngsters dont wont to work for money like that,shocking :ayatollah:

Re: minimum wage for first year apprentice is........

Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:37 pm

Work Based Learning (old YTS) is £1.50 a hour, lush in it!!

Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Yeah i quit my apprentice cos of that

Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:41 pm

CardiffCityCulture wrote:Work Based Learning (old YTS) is £1.50 a hour, lush in it!!

is this true :ayatollah:

Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:45 pm

i am a qualified electrician,started my apprenticeship in 1980,started on 68p an hour,but prices were according ie. 5 litres(gallon) of petrol were about £1.i think £2.50 today is scandalous :( :ayatollah:

Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:54 pm

THATS £100 a week,probably living at home and getting the opportunity to learn a trade.
My advice would be take the job.bite the bullet and in a couple of years time him/her will look back
and say "I'm glad I took that job"

Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:59 pm

stickywicket wrote:THATS £100 a week,probably living at home and getting the opportunity to learn a trade.
My advice would be take the job.bite the bullet and in a couple of years time him/her will look back

i know what your saying,but cheap labour springs to mind,its not even minimum wage,and what im saying is that you can earn more going on the dole and doing f@ck all,wheres the incentive, :ayatollah:

Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:06 pm

stickywicket wrote:THATS £100 a week,probably living at home and getting the opportunity to learn a trade.

Hit and his SW.