Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

" I went to watch the players training today..... "

Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:43 pm

and i gotta say it was very impressive. Firstly, i wanna say that i went quite a few times last season so i was able to make comparisons between the two. Last season there was only one voice in control of all the sessions i attended and that was terry burton, sometimes dave jones watched from the balcony, sometimes he watched from the side and sometimes he didnt appear to be there. Though i'm no expert, the training often seemed a bit dated and often comprised of drills i'm used to from playing amateur level football. Training often lacked intensity and i never ever saw us work on set pieces. The players often lacked discipline and as i've commented on here before, after one session, ross, whitts and taiwo were kicking 40 yard conversions of cones over the rugby posts (the day before a game!!!)
Today's session couldn't have been more different, there were at least 3 people controlling the session. Kerslake, someone else and malky. Malky was involved in everything and often had the players huddled around while he gave them instuctions. The players looked as if they were hanging off his every word and the intensity was like a match situation. The drills were far fresher (in my eyes) and everything involved the ball. The players also looked as if they were thoroughly enyoying the session and team spirit looked good.
I'd also like to say that it did definitely look as if Parkin had lost a lot of weight even though he was wearing a jumper. Gerrard looked lean and in very good condition (100 times better than last year) and keinan was also looking very lean.
Ibby farah played a big part in training and i wouldnt be surprised to see him feature quite a bit in the first team this year and he seems to have bulked up a bit
:ayatollah:

Re: I went to watch the players training today.....

Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:45 pm