Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

Rise of the foot soldier... question....

Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Last night i watched this film i know the history behind the gangsters, but what really shocked most was the level of violence between football fans early in the film.

I have been City since 1978, abeit a spotty teenager then as you go, i stopped following when i started playing rugby, but the city result was always the first thing i looked for on a saturday.

Flash fwd 20 yrs, and ive been back about 3 yrs, can anyone confirm if that level of violence took place, (never seen nothing like that in the press) Matchettes, axes, knives ect.

Innocent people being battered to pulp for being wrong place wrong time??

IVE been following 'Corkys posts' and just feel what todays lads got done for, is nothing in comparisson to those days surly..

A huge injustice, or paying the price for decades ago??

Re: Rise of the foot soldier... question....

Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:04 pm

When they get attacked by Millwall on the train it was West Ham who pulled the machete not the way they portray it.

Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:07 pm

although based on real events - movies are always glorified! have you ever seen such perfect violence! it doesnt happen- usually a f*cking right mess! :lol:

BillyGoat Gruff wrote:When they get attacked by Millwall on the train it was West Ham who pulled the machete not the way they portray it.

Thanks mate, but these things happened then ye,, only be inquisitive... :ayatollah:

Funny thing I was talking to a mate about this film, we both thought the attack by Millwall on the tube was a bit OTT, Why spoil a good film by letting the truth get in the way :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:14 pm