Globalisation of British football

A forum for all things Cardiff City

Postby benni3 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 5:08 pm

Hi everyone, I am a final year geography student at Queens University Belfast who is looking for insightful responses from the perspective of local fans on the issue of globalisation in football. Any responses would be much appreciated as it is a vital part of my report.

By this I am talking about commercialization of football clubs, the effects of lucrative TV deals, opinions on foreign ownership and direct investment and what can be seen as the erosion of Britain's dominant sporting culture. I want to generate a discussion on how local supporters of Cardiff City have seen their club develop over the past 25 years since the restructuring of the English football league system.

With Sky obtaining the broadcasting rights to the league, the changes brought about through the Taylor Report in 1990 and the creation of the 'Premier League', British footballs global appeal has risen massively. Sam Hammam and Vincent Tans involvement in Cardiff City is one case of many foreign ownership of clubs and there is an argument to be made that this outbreak, among many other aspects, goes against the working-class essence of football.

In short, I basically want to gather your opinions on the events that have occurred since the early 90s both in relation to your club and the general football culture in Britain. Again, many thanks for taking the time out to read this!
benni3

Advertisement

Advertisement
Login or Register to remove this ad.

Re: Globalisation of British football

Postby benni3 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:46 pm

Does anyone have any sort of opinion on this subject? I forgot to add that all responses will be kept anonymous in my report. Thanks, Ben.
benni3

Postby pembroke allan » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:52 pm